1920 Group of Seven Hold Their First Exhibition

  • Cranberry Lake

    The First Exhibition, May 7, 1920, Art Gallery of Toronto

    The founding members of the Group of Seven were: Lawren S. Harris, J.E.H. MacDonald, Arthur Lismer, Frederick Varley, Frank Johnston, Franklin Carmichael and A.Y. Jackson. To quote the first exhibition catalogue: “The seven artists whose pictures are here exhibited have for several years held a like vision concerning Art in Canada. They are all imbued with the idea that an Art must grow and flower in the land before the country will be a real home for its people.”

    Franklin Carmichael

    Oil on panel


    Stark painting of mainly bare trees at edge, diagonal clouds of rain touching down on opposite shore